1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dumping Air

Discussion in 'General Scuba Diving' started by Chris Handzel, May 20, 2011.

1. Chris Handzel

Chris Handzel Member

Very daft question, however im new to diving and techniques, however what I want to know is there a way to stop myself going into a quick ascent? ive tried dumping air and getting rid of air out of me, is there a more controlled way.

2. Flyingspanner

Flyingspanner Well-Known Member

Correct weighting is most important.
    Do a proper weight check with an almost empty cylinder.

3. Steppenwolf

Steppenwolf Well-Known Member

Seconded. During the early days of my diving I found that buoyancy control towards the end of a dive got increasingly difficult with those blasted aluminium tanks. I prefer to use steel ones but if only "alis" were available (like my forthcoming Turks & Caicos trip next week), I will make sure to do a proper weight check with an empty tank.

4. Chris Handzel

Chris Handzel Member

Thats great advice thank you, Im off diving a few times in Tunisia so ill can have try at the weighting side of things!

5. big si

big si Well-Known Member

Anticipate when the lift is going to happen and start dumping its a fine art just like balancing on a seesaw, its just a practice thing and being weighted correctly. also if your over weighted you will need more air in the BCD to keep you bouyant at depth which will expand at a faster rate as the volume is larger on an ascent, so will create a problem as you will not be able to dump fast enough. My guess is you could be over weighted if your new to diving if your using the same amount of weight that you used on your OW as most instructors over weight pupils instead of teaching proper bouyancy from the start.

Jenkins likes this.
  6. puddle fish

puddle fish Well-Known Member